Writer Crawl #solc24 #day20

In March, I post to the Two Writing Teacher blog, for their blogging challenge.

Yesterday I took myself on a writing crawl, which is like a bar crawl, but I go to different locations and write and take photos rather than drink. Since it was the Spring Equinox I figured it was a good day for a crawl!

I find the inspiration to be different when I am sitting in the space writing rather than reflecting later when I return home.

The sensory details are much more prevalent in the prose when I am immersed in the environment.

It also is a way to make errands more fun.

Stop 1 – Library

I picked up my holds and did some browsing.

There is a quiet reading room I have been wanting to visit so I sat and thumbed through my stack and wrote in my notebook.

Stop 2 Book Garden

This is a stock photo. It was sunny yesterday and I walked through. There are statues and a children’s book walk inside plus tables where people often sit and eat their lunch. It was windy yesterday so it was empty of people.

Stop 3 Lifestyles Shop

I haven’t been in this downtown shop for over 10 years. It was a nice day for browsing. They have cards and kitchen items. Toys and gifts. I was just window shopping.

After, I took a stroll up and down the main street downtown and popped into a resale shop that is never open. I browsed but nothing caught my eye except for a man who was clearly looking up the value of records in the back of the store on his phone.

Stop 4 The Press Bookstore

This is my local independent bookstore. I browsed and sat in the back on the couch and wrote a few lines while I was there. A few people were scattered around but it was very quiet.

Stop 5 Bao Bakery

Tucked away on Chicago street is this little gem that seemed serendipitous with my obsession with Paris lately! I had a lovely coffee and wrote on the last page of my notebook. This was the first time I had visited. There are 5 coffee shops within a mile of each other but my favorite one was flooded and is currently closed.

***

The Rest of the Day…

Modified Workshop Call

I had to return home because I had a writing workshop scheduled but there was some confusion about times this week and I ended up chatting writing with a good friend. That was a welcome change from the original plan because I wasn’t in the critique mood anyway.

Walk

I went for a walk and listened to podcasts. I made some notes about writing and only went 6 miles today. I stopped by to see Chris who was working a mile away from our house.

These cabbage remains were seen along my walk. I have no idea why they are there!

Sushi

I ate sushi for dinner when I returned home from my walk.

MFA for All Workshop

Part 1 of my craft workshop with Carmen Maria Machado was last evening and it was amazing. The two hours went fast and I learned a lot.

Have you ever taken yourself on a writer’s crawl? I would love to hear where you went!

14 thoughts on “Writer Crawl #solc24 #day20

  1. I am envious in the most positive way and also super happy for you. I didn’t know it was called a writing crawl. I called a day (I have done it only once) of writing in different locations a writing marathon and I loved it. It was one of the ideal days in my life.

    Like

    • I haven’t heard it called that! As a marathoner, I have this idea that there should be 26 stops! But that would be a lot. It is amazing how fun this practice is! I am glad you have experienced it too! What were some of the stops you had?
      One of the best places I have written is when I was still in WI and I was seeing Neil Gaiman speak. I wrote in a whiskey bar and an art museum in different spaces. Such a great day!

      Like

      • 26! stops would be way too much for me. I think the term “marathon” came from the idea that it’s more than one stretch of writing during a day. I wrote on a train, in a park, in two cafes, and a seaside. I have done it only once though. Sweet memory. Thinking about it and reading about your experience I feel the need to repeat. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. A writer’s crawl! I’ve never thought of it like this, but I’ve definitely had days where I’ve written in multiple locations. I love this idea and I’m going to borrow it for next week when I have spring break! Now I can enjoy dreaming up locations to visit….

    Liked by 1 person

    • The idea came from the writer Sherrie Flick. She does these crawls in her town and has prompts for people. I have thought about hosting one for other people in my town!

      Like

  3. I would love to go on a ‘Writer’s Crawl’ and take photographs of the locations. I know how it feels to write in my sister’s commercial garden. This sentence is exactly how I feel when I am writing there;”The sensory details are much more prevalent in the prose when I am immersed in the environment.”

    Like

  4. Argh, Tammy, “I only did five miles today.” Really? Only? I pushed myself for five yesterday because of you, and now this.😉 Like everyone here, the writer’s crawl holds certain fascination, though if I’m honest, a glass of wine or two wouldn’t ruin it for me. Finally, I love the idea of a “Children’s Book Walk. We have a wooded trail that features a children’s story as you walk it—or did. Right now it’s full of nature and confederated tribes information. I love that, too! Thanks for the “Crawl.”

    Like

  5. I have not ever gone on a writer’s crawl. I love the idea of doing this deliberately. What a fun way to spend a day! I enjoyed reading about the places you chose to write and visit.

    Like

  6. I love the idea of a writer’s crawl even though I have never done one. I HAVE done the Podcast part while I walked and the bookstore parts. Thanks for a great post that makes me think and wonder

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.