My Favorites Party – You’re Invited #solc24 #day13

twowritingteachers.org

Welcome to my favorites party! I am so glad you took me up on my invitation! This is the Slicer who started it many years ago!

For the FAVORITES party, each person is asked to bring five of their favorite things.  

I was able to participate in a real-life [through the mail] favorites party several years ago at Christmas. Doing it as a blog post and virtually means we all get fantastic recommendations.

The week has been stressful and sometimes fun items make us happy!

I imagine we are all sitting around a roaring fire in comfy clothes with delicious beverages. We would have some yummy fireplace food – something hearty with some rustic bread. I think I would bring this recipe to share: Chicken Cacciatore

Image result for free fireplace images

Here are some of my favorite things I wanted to share with you!

  1. Sharpie S-Gel Pens

I love these pens. They are smooth and do not smear. I love a fine pen. I did buy the blue ones first but then switched to the black. I usually prefer black ink…unless I prefer purple!

2. Field Notes Notebooks

3. Pottery mugs

The mug you drink coffee out of matters! I have a special mug from a trip that I use lately and always notice cool mugs when people are on Zoom!

4. Sparkling Water

I love sparkling water. It feels so fancy to me. I once toasted increased test scores with plastic champagne glasses. We made toasts to everything we were celebrating at that meeting.

5. Ada Limon Poetry

What would you bring to share?

Just imagine the conversation we would have!

Please share your favorite things you would share in the comments.

11 thoughts on “My Favorites Party – You’re Invited #solc24 #day13

  1. I love this idea, Tammy! You chipped off a bit of my writer’s block, so I’ll elaborate in my post today. Pens are my favorite! I will need to try the Sharpie gel pens, but I haven’t because I don’t need a new pen brand addiction. A good, hefty, coffee mug is a must. I recently tried Spindrift sparkling water…new fave.

    I would bring: 1. Archer & Olive notebooks 2. Sanders Dark Chocolate Sea Salt Caramels 3. Corral boots 4. My husband’s baked goods, can’t decide which ones #5 is still up in the air.

    Saving this post to see more faves.

    Like

  2. I remember lots of folks doing the favorite party thing years ago. I love Ada Limon, but I’m hooked on Kate Baer’s poetry right now. All three of her collections are fantastic. I’m bringing hiking or walking shoes to the party so we can go for a stroll in nature and pretend we’re Mary Oliver. I’m gonna think about the other choices a while. Thanks for bringing back the party vibe!

    Liked by 2 people

    • A walk and pretending we are Mary Oliver would be a wonderful way to spend time together! I am looking up Baer’s poetry now! Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Another great idea, Tammy! Writers can’t turn that idea engine off (or at least that seems to be you!) The teacher I subbed for yesterday had those Sharpies…object-love, for sure! Soleil Sparkling water, lemon-flavored—my challenge is to only drink one each day, and poetry, yikes Clint Smith and Only as the Day Is Long by Dorianne Laux figure in my morning rotation these days. (I’m savoring Ó Tuama’s 50 Poems…).

    Like

  4. Pingback: Favorite Things – Nerds Beget Nerds

  5. I’ve had several people ask me if I was going to host my slicer party this–year 8! I guess you beat me to it! I’ll have to think about this year’s favorites, but I am sure it would include writing tools.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have always been inspired by your post Leigh Anne! I also love the writing retreat you did. Thank you for being a light!

      Like

  6. Tammy, fun! I love a good smooth black pen too. I’ll bring my Kindle, my crochet bag, my double-sided glass mug with tea, a good hat for the sunshine, and my comfy anti-gravity chair.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: That Pinkie Toe Implant Again – Nerds Beget Nerds

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.