Tammy’s Trio #solc24 #day12

On (some) Tuesdays I write about education and then post to the Two Writing Teacher blog. and then comment on at least three other blog posts . Every day in March I will blog and post for the Two Writing Teacher challenge.

Today my post was inspired by Ray Bradbury.

Today the weather is supposed to be close to 70 degrees so I will be able to get a longer run in. I am trying to ease into my work week after traveling last week.

It will all work out in the end! Þetta Reddast!


The Bradbury Trio [reading a poem, an essay, and a story every day] fuels my writing.

This trio structure works for me because I am inspired to write after I read.

I hope the reading you do today leads you to writing that could not have been created any other way.

Here is some of what I read today.

Poem: Love After Love

There are so many pull lines to use for writing in this poem:

“The time will come”

“you will greet yourself arriving/at your own door”

“Feast on your life”

Story: Case History #3

This story intrigues me and I love the first line, “I WANT TO MAKE things with other things.”

Essay: Is Food Writing Important?

This HuffPost article strikes a chord for me. I love this quote, “To connect food with what I believe is fundamental to our lives and our happiness, to our humanity, and to do so through story.”

While I was away last week I finally read Consider the Lobster which is an essay I hear about a lot written by David Foster Wallace. I am not sure why this essay is so famous honestly. There are all kinds of festivals here in the Midwest centered around food. In my town, there is the Popcorn Fest every September.

What specialty festivals are hosted in your town?


What will these pieces inspire you to write!?

What are you writing in your notebook today?

I would love to know your favorite lines in the comments.


A little more about me: Tammy L. Evans is a writer, teacher, runner, and coach living in a tiny house on a peninsula with her husband and adventure cat. Her location device is her loud laugh. She is a reader for Reckon Review. Her poetry has been published in The Storyteller, FoxGlove Journal, Story Hall, Blue Insights, The Partnered Pen, and others. Her fiction has been published in Gone LawnCabinets of Heed, Spelk, Five on the Fifth, Clover and White, Fiction Berlin Kitchen, and others.

What have you read that inspires you to write?

4 thoughts on “Tammy’s Trio #solc24 #day12

  1. I wanted you to know that for World Read Aloud Day, I happened to be subbing in a science class. I hate how homeroom can be such a device-full time, so I wanted to read aloud something to the kids and remembered Ray Bradbury’s “All Summer in a Day.” (I had been thinking Bradbury after reading about your trio inspired by him, of that I’m sure.) Amazing! These antsy sixth graders sat spellbound. The power of good writing takes us places! Bradbury rules the universe.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That story creeps me out and definitely stays with me! I love Bradbury too (obviously). LOL Thank you for sharing. I am glad that the 6th graders were spellbound…new readers for Bradbury maybe.

      Like

  2. Tammy, some of my favorite lines are: “Sit. Feast on your life.” and in the story “She looks at me as I stand in the mirror. She tells me to make my own world.”

    You can make

    your own world.

    Sit. Enjoy.

    Feast on this world

    you created.

    You are worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.