Word Buffet Slicer Party #solc24 #day28

In March, I post to the Two Writing Teacher blog, for their blogging challenge.

Every year A Day In the Life hosts a Slicer party.

This year, it is a Word Buffet!

What are five of your favorite words?

Here are mine for this Thursday:

  1. RED – There are many reasons I love this word. It is a connection to Chris in many ways, part of my favorite color combination, a word I taught as a teacher, the red thread of fate, and the threads of connection within my flash stories manuscript.
  2. Spoon – I am obsessed with spoons and they come up in my writing all the time. I find them on the side of the road and this word has about 25 definitions. A set of coffee spoons given as a wedding present may have kicked this off several years ago.
  3. Opportunity – this has now become a loaded word for me after hearing Emily P Freeman talk about it with Laura Tremaine on the podcast 10 THINGS TO TELL YOU. Now it will forever be paired with the “for”. Opportunities are neutral even though the people presenting them would not agree. I used to think of them as something like a ticking time bomb – only good for so long – but some opportunities are not to make a connection or to learn something. Sometimes an opportunity is someone else wanting something from me I don’t really want to give! I think differently about them now. It has been a huge paradigm shift. (Paradigm is another great word too. )
  4. Fragmented – I love kaleidoscopes as well and fragmented writing. I often think of my writing as a kaleidoscope as well. I love pieces of things that come together to make a whole. Lately, I have been thinking about fragments of my day and thinking in relation to Iceland, Germany and France!
  5. Season – I like this word because it is a container. I have been thinking about the calendar seasons and the seasons of life lately. I am getting ready for Tomato Season (growing and eating!)

3 thoughts on “Word Buffet Slicer Party #solc24 #day28

  1. I love your take on the words you chose–instead of fascinating or fun words, each of your words has many layers of richness to explore. Your explanation of “seasons” has me thinking about different types of seasons now, and what you wrote about “opportunities” has me intrigued–I think I need to listen to the podcast now!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.