31 Things About Me #sol24 #day9

In March, I post to the Two Writing Teacher blog, for their blogging challenge.

This post is inspired by Push To Write.

  1. I’m allergic to lateness – my own and other people’s.
  2. I am back to reading novels and happy about it. Physical copies from the library seem better for me lately than e-books.
  3. Last year I visited Iceland for the first time.
  4. Iceland was my first international travel.
  5. I am currently planning a trip to Canada and Alaska.
  6. I probably belong to too many writing communities.
  7. I love Flash Fiction and Poetry.
  8. I am not buying as many books or classes this year. (I had vowed to not buy any, but I went to AWP and signed up for MFA for ALL!)
  9. I’m thinking a lot about community and belonging.
  10. I am obsessed with apartments, MFA programs, spoons, red, and crows.
  11. My son just turned 21.
  12. I love to cook without processed ingredients.
  13. I don’t use my phone for talking.
  14. I love Birch Trees.
  15. I have not made it to real-life book club yet this calendar year.
  16. My favorite local cafe flooded and won’t be open for 3 months.
  17. My word of the year is WINTERING.
  18. Poets I love: Ada Limon and Naomi Shihab Nye
  19. I’m turning 50 this year.
  20. I live in a tiny house.
  21. I have an adventure cat! When he was a kitten he rode on top of the gas tank of a Silverado truck for 40 minutes on the highway.
  22. I live on a peninsula.
  23. My husband and I like to eat outside in the summer.
  24. I’m looking forward to planting our garden and am already excited for the first tomatoes.
  25. I love cinnamon and cayenne in my coffee.
  26. I only nap when I am sick.
  27. Years ago I was the overall winner of a 50K trail race and I have a jacket that I won too!
  28. I just returned from Disney to celebrate my son’s 21st birthday!
  29. We went to an after hours party at Disney for the first time and it was amazing!
  30. I love coffee but can be a bit snobbish about it.
  31. I have lost count of how many years I have done this writing challenge.

15 thoughts on “31 Things About Me #sol24 #day9

  1. What a terrific way to introduce yourself (to those who haven’t had the pleasure of writing with you yet). As for me, I learned a few new things: you’re 50th, Oh my,! a tiny house is home, you live on a peninsula, but a lot just reminds me of why I feel connected to you. Your two favorite poets are among mine. Add Maggie Smith and Eavan Boland to that esteemed company!

    Love this, Tammy. Have a great weekend with Alaska and Canada on your horizon. (I hope to get to Canada myself!)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Maggie is one of mine as well! I saw her in person and told her I loved her work at AWP this year! I do not know Boland so will be looking them up after I write this comment. I am sure since we share the same taste I will love this poetry too! Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You will,Tammy, I’ll bet. “Against Love Poetry” is the perfect poem to read this month, too. (And like you, I love my husband!) I was heartbroken to learn she had suddenly died within a week after buying my first collection of her poetry.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This was really fun to read! And so was the original piece that inspired this list! Thank you. I put cinnamon in my coffee, but I’m going to try cayenne. That sounds like the ‘ol double-kick into the day! 😂 Caffeine and fire! I hope you write about your tiny house. That lifestyle intrigues me.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I have never written about the tiny house and my obsession with the idea! Thank you for sharing that is of interest. The page in my notebook already has notes about it! Thank you for reading and commenting.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. We have some things in common! #9, #11 but my daughter next month, #12, #14, #19, #23, #25 just cinnamon every day, #26, #30- I’ll store those ideas away if they still hold true for next year’s list!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I really enjoy this format too (might have to write one this year too), and it’s fun to find out new things about you! I have tiny house envy, but with the number of cats we have, we are thinking our next house needs to be a bit bigger. Naomi Shihab Nye is one of my very favorite poets too, and I love listening to podcast interviews with her.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Pingback: 31 Things About Me, Day 9 – Steph Scrap Quilts

  6. Pingback: SOL 24: 31 Facts about Bending The Arc #10 – Sherri's Slice of Life Project

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.